Kick hitting the top of the goal post question.

DinwiddieProud

VaPreps All Region
Gold Member
Dec 9, 2013
6,774
4,652
113
If the ball hits the top of the goal post during a field goal or extra point attempt, what call is made?
 

White hat

VaPreps Honorable Mention
Aug 17, 2001
1,326
88
48
It's no good. The ball has to travel Inside the goal posts, so if it goes overtop it's no good.

In all my years and hundreds of games, I've seen a kick bounce off the top of the goal post once, and that happened in the third varsity game I ever worked. Not something that happens a lot. I think it might have happened in a game I worked one other time but I now work as a referee so I don't get to watch the flight of the ball.
 

Latest posts