OT Question

DinwiddieProud

VaPreps All Region
Gold Member
Dec 9, 2013
6,723
4,609
113
Are the rules for OT the same no matter how many OT's it takes? Is the ball always placed on the 10 yard line to start?
 
Sep 26, 2015
73
49
18
Are the rules for OT the same no matter how many OT's it takes? Is the ball always placed on the 10 yard line to start?
Correct, there's no special rules during 2nd OT, 3rd OT, etc. requiring the team to go for 2 or anything like that. The ball always starts on the 10 yard line unless there's a carryover penalty that moves the ball off of the 10. Big thing to note there is that if there's a carryover penalty that takes the ball behind the 10 (say back to the 25), during OT the line to gain is always the goal line. There are never chains during a VHSL OT. So it would be 1st and goal from the 25.
 
  • Like
Reactions: DinwiddieProud

DinwiddieProud

VaPreps All Region
Gold Member
Dec 9, 2013
6,723
4,609
113
Thank you sir. We were discussing it and were thinking that maybe after a certain number of OT's that maybe the ball was placed on the 2 or something.
 
Sep 26, 2015
73
49
18
Thank you sir. We were discussing it and were thinking that maybe after a certain number of OT's that maybe the ball was placed on the 2 or something.
Not in VHSL. I believe there are other states that do require a team to go for 2 in their OT procedure at some point. And obviously NCAA you must go for 2 starting with the 3rd OT.
 
  • Like
Reactions: DinwiddieProud

DinwiddieProud

VaPreps All Region
Gold Member
Dec 9, 2013
6,723
4,609
113
LOL, there are a lot of coaches that probably wish it was mandatory to go for two!!! Especially right after their kicker misses the chip shot!
 
  • Like
Reactions: VAOfficial

White hat

VaPreps Honorable Mention
Aug 17, 2001
1,322
87
48
I had a triple OT game some years ago where the team with the ball first in the third OT scored a TD and went for 2. The try failed. The other team then scored a TD and kicked the PAT to win. The losing coach was furious about it. I explained that he had the rules confused with NCAA and that ihigh school had no rule requiring a 2-point try. Bottom line was, one coach knew the rules and won. The other didn't and lost.
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: VAOfficial