ADVERTISEMENT

I still somehow have Salem taking D5.............................

T

TBone

Sad to say, especially since I'm a big fan of Coach Jackson, but I knew Salem would slip, just not at this point of the season. The close wins when I expected blowouts, i.e. Kellam and Cox (Cox has to be for real, this isn't same ol' country club squad), opened my eyes, but I expected a sellout, 9-0 vs. 9-0 battle the last week of the season when Salem and O.Lakes were to clash. Reason I say I still have Salem taking D5 is because Coach Jack will work these boys in practice and get 'em focused again. Might finish the regular season 8-2 (starting to believe NO ONE will beat Ocean Lakes unless the opposition's defense can get its hands on those two QBs), but I got Salem still taking state, unless Herm can get over that hump! Thoughts guys?

Re: Forgot about Indian River............

New coach, new attitude, and a streak that's budding seems to put the Braves in the mix, too. Western Branch still looms IMO as the only team to give the squad problems until the regular season is over. Plus Indian River from what I'm reading appears to be aging a bit. If any coach knows 757 football from different angles, its Ferebee, and with the athletes that suit up at Indian River, I'd honestly call the Braves a darkhorse to definitely challenge for the D5 South crown at least.

Five teams from Richmond: Hermitage, Bird, Highland Springs, Atlee and Manchester may make things interesting for the the 757. Don't think Bird is going to roll over and give up their crown without a fight.

Salem is good, but they will have a tough game with Ocean Lakes at the end of the season. Richmond will win the 5a South title, Indian River while improved did lose to Hampton and Smith. Norview who is going to likely finish 9-1 and be the #1 seed unless Salem upsets OL lost to Lake Taylor 35-0 and did nothing offensively in that game. Based on how the brackets should play out down here in Tidewater
1. Norview