Muffed Punt

moto138

VaPreps Rookie
Nov 4, 2018
352
142
43
If the ball does not go beyond the los. APPO VS LEE 2017 3rd or 4th quarter.
 

White hat

VaPreps Honorable Mention
Aug 17, 2001
1,322
87
48
It's hard to imagine a muffed punt being behind the line of scrimmage, but if it is. or if it's blocked and is behind the line of scrimmage, it can be advanced by anybody. If the punt is really short and the muff is behind the line (neutral zone in Rules Book parlance) anybody can advance it but if the kicking team advances it the line to gain is still in play and ending up short of that line means a turnover on downs (assuming its a 4th down play)

The more likely question here is whether a muffed punt BEYOND the line of scrimmage can be advanced. No it cannot. Recovered but not advanced.

By definition, a muff is touched but never possessed by the receiving team.

Once it's possessed, it's no longer a punt, it's just the ball in possession of a runner. If it's fumbled at that point, then it can be advanced.
 

moto138

VaPreps Rookie
Nov 4, 2018
352
142
43
In the 2a championship game 2017. R Lee muffed a punt, ball did not go beyond LOS and stayed inbounds. A R Lee player picked the ball up and ran down the sideline for a TD.
 

bowlingref

VaPreps Honorable Mention
Apr 29, 2010
1,469
176
63
68
Rustburg Va.
It's hard to imagine a muffed punt being behind the line of scrimmage, but if it is. or if it's blocked and is behind the line of scrimmage, it can be advanced by anybody. If the punt is really short and the muff is behind the line (neutral zone in Rules Book parlance) anybody can advance it but if the kicking team advances it the line to gain is still in play and ending up short of that line means a turnover on downs (assuming its a 4th down play)

The more likely question here is whether a muffed punt BEYOND the line of scrimmage can be advanced. No it cannot. Recovered but not advanced.

By definition, a muff is touched but never possessed by the receiving team.

Once it's possessed, it's no longer a punt, it's just the ball in possession of a runner. If it's fumbled at that point, then it can be advanced.
The muff was 30 yards down field. Thanks
 
Aug 30, 2016
19
11
3
Heritage-Rustburg. Thursday night.
That would be a pretty big mistake for a playoff crew. Devastating error. Possible the covering official (Back Judge) ruled that the ball was caught-possessed and then fumbled. Likely that either the Side Judge or Field Judge (or both) caught a peek at the play also and could have stepped in with input. Kicks only happen a dozen or so times per game but are the most chaotic plays in football. Most experienced officials will tell you that they spend as much time studying Chapter 6 in the rule book as they do the whole rest of the book.
 
  • Like
Reactions: bowlingref

bowlingref

VaPreps Honorable Mention
Apr 29, 2010
1,469
176
63
68
Rustburg Va.
A huge play in the game. The punt was the fourth play of the game. Rustburg coach questioned the white hat for a long time.