ADVERTISEMENT

single A state tourney

Oct 28, 2003
usually i am not one to complain about refs or anything, but i strongly believe that they were determined to not let the PMHS wrestling team win. during the whole tournament they refused to call pins, when it was obvious to the whole crowd that guys were flat as pancakes...and every call that was close was turned against the blues. this happened over and over, causing the blues to not get as many points as they deserved. the officiating was terrible, and the blues really got robbed. i think the whole thing was rigged. i am sorry to say this, but i wouldn't say it if i didn't believe it. Go Blues!! you are the real state champs.
if anyone agrees or disagrees i would love to hear your comments.

I was there as a working photographer, I had an interest in Clarke County, (A) and Loudoun County (AA), I don't think anything was rigged, Manassas Park had 4 champions, a 2nd place and a 4th, give credit where it's due. I admit I saw a couple different teams not get the pin called when I thought it was a pin, (like I said, I thought it should have been a pin, but I have never been an official so I'm not going to second guess.) I think of the few I saw PM might have been involved in one match, but the guy still got a major decision win, in a prelim match so I don't think it cost them too many points. The refs are human and are going to miss calls occasionally, as a pretty much impartial observer, I thought overall they did a pretty good job. They are being filmed and watched by the VHSL I don't think they would risk their job for the sake of keeping a particular team from winning, as the officials come from all parts of the state. As a reporter / photographer who was at 3 tournaments where Manassas Park wrestled, I didn't see them lose too many matches. They got a heck of a team. Thats just my 2 cents..