ADVERTISEMENT

Random Thoughts on 2016

freeatlast2013

VaPreps Honorable Mention
Feb 23, 2013
The Blue Ridge and River Ridge end up better in end than beginning of year. Staunton River , William Byrd , Blacksburg and not to mention decent teams or traditional powers in Lord Botetourt , Northside and Pulaski . Oh yeah Salem only had one player after 1st game of year according to some comments . The perception is different now overall different. The Seminole, on the other hand ended up maybe not quite as strong as originally perceived . A lot of good teams beating up on each other but Blacksburg blasting both Brookville and beating Heritage and Phoebus changed that somewhat. I think JF of 2015 was better than any of these teams at end of year. All that being said and admitting that I am no expert on Amherst , their season was ended on key injury and turnovers. I not sure if they thought they were better because they beat Salem at the beginning of year by two points when Salem was not playing very good defense and they caught two or three wide open touchdown passes gave them way too much overconfidence, at least among their fan base. Blacksburg has improved , Salem has improved and Staunton River is on a mission , especially after their only loss when they were held to six points in a mud bowl in Vinton by a very physical and under rated Terrier squad.

Even without Ramsey, Salem significantly better than opening game, mostly on defensive end where they have gotten better against the run

Quite a few things happened for Salem that have them playing better than they did in week 1. The play at right tackle has gotten a lot better with the sophomore Cardwell getting more experience and the big weakness at left tackle improved when Mundy finally came back for being injured the last game of the regular season. Also, they finally started getting more production from the FB in the running game when they let Fox take over full time.