ADVERTISEMENT

2A State Top 10 9/26/23

Sep 19, 2023
Halfway point of the regular season and things are getting interesting. In an attempt to liven up the forum I'm going to give my unofficial top 10 each week that is created using my own observations. I try to watch each team on NFHS Network and also read other reports from informed fans. I'm no expert, just a long time VA highschool football fan. A few things to note. I will never rank a team based on record. My rank is based upon how I perceive a team has performed against quality opponents and how I view their potential to beat other 2A opponents. (See Appomattox) Let's get to the rankings.

1. Union 4-1
Battle tested team that has emerged as a favorite. Physical, fast, and stategic. Will be a hard out for 2A.

2. Graham 4-1
Injured and people are starting to doubt their prowess. Still possess the players and coaching to win out. When healthy they could be the best team. Achilles heel: Undisciliplined, especially on the line.

3. Radford 5-0
Immense talent at the skill positions and one of the best quarterbacks in all levels of VHSL football. This week will be telling. Achilles heel: lineplay, point of attack.

4. Glenvar 4-0
Well rounded team that hasn't really shown a true identity yet. Seemingly disciplined and hard nosed. I think they could make a deep playoff run. Achilles heel: Not elite in one area?

5. Gretna 3-1
A wise man said were all sleeping on Gretna. I now think they can beat all the teams in 2A. Very athletic while getting more cohesive each week. Achilles heel: unknown...someone help me out

6. Appomattox 1-3
Could have won against Gretna but it wasn't meant to be. Appo has played an extremely tough schedule and has had some tough luck. Plenty of talent and coaching to right the ship. Achilles heel: Depth

7. Ridgeview 5-0
Untested but that will change soon. Offense has looked really good. Achilles heel: Not quite as talented as the top 5.

8. Clarke County 4-0