Rules Interpretations

NNDman

VaPreps All District
May 29, 2001
3,660
216
63
How often do you have coaches actually not know the difference between NFHS rules vs. college or pro rules.
 

White hat

VaPreps Honorable Mention
Aug 17, 2001
1,322
87
48
How often do you have coaches actually not know the difference between NFHS rules vs. college or pro rules.
Far more often than you would think. The obvious ones are intentional grounding out of the pocket -- which doesn't exist in high school -- and thinking all personal fouls on the defense are automatic first down. A few others show up from time to time.

It's rare to get NFL rules mixed in but I had a coach upset once because he said the defenders were making contact more than yards downfield.
 

White hat

VaPreps Honorable Mention
Aug 17, 2001
1,322
87
48
Do you ever get: It was uncatchable!!!
Not much anymore because the NFHS has put in a rule that it is not pass interference if the contact is obviously away from the direction of the pass.

This has morphed into a broad definition that a pass that cannot be caught is in a direction far enough away from the receiver that pass interference is often not called. This isn't exactly right, by rule, but it's a better way to work that game. Obvious PI that keeps a player from getting to a spot where the ball comes down, then it should still be called. Does that make sense?
 
  • Like
Reactions: moto138